The 7 Oceans – Why are they so important?

In everyday language, there is often only talk of 3 oceans, but there are five— namely the Pacific, the Atlantic, the Indian Ocean and the North and Southern Oceans.

The historical “Seven Seas” are the following waters:

  • Pacific Ocean
  • Atlantic Ocean
  • Indian Ocean
  • Arctic Ocean
  • European Mediterranean
  • American Mediterranean (Caribbean Sea and Gulf of Mexico)
  • Australasian Mediterranean

Oceans are essential for the Earth’s heat balance and the regulation of the climate system. They absorb over 90 percent of the heat that is currently accumulating on Earth. In this way, they balance the temperatures in the atmosphere and stabilize the climate.

They store 50 times more greenhouse gases than the atmosphere and thus 20 to 30 percent of the carbon dioxide caused by humans worldwide since 1980. This makes them our most important natural carbon sink!

The oceans produce a lot of oxygen, a total of 70 percent of all oxygen! But the oceans also give us energy and raw materials, e.B fish as food.

Without the sea we cannot survive on this planet, so please help us to save the seas!

Leave a Comment